I met a version of me from next week

Calm down. I don’t mean that literally. No time travel here folks.

Just now I was talking to my friend Isabelle while going up an escalator and a man asked us for directions because we were speaking English.

His name is Roy. He’s Lebanese. And a student.

He’s doing a beer tour of some stretch of lands. Today is his first day in Athens and he’s had a bit of an adventure asking random people on the street for directions. I had him look at the map saved on my phone, but when we got outside the subway station he got reoriented.

He invited us to a bar nearby with a wide selection of Greek beers called Beer Time. He’ll be there at around 4:00. I said I might swing by. I probably won’t—I have things to do.

But that’ll be me in a week. A man sort of aimlessly traveling through some part of Europe.

I’ll be in Germany of course, but I have more a set of guidelines than an itinerary.

He looked a little lost, a little frustrated, a little on edge, a little tired. But he looked like he was living.

That’s good I think. I wish him luck.

We’ll see how I like it.

Header Photo: Two cats seen eating food someone left out.

Author: fargomusings

A St. Louisan (county, Kirkwood) currently studying Computer Science and Journalism at Northeastern University. Consumes stories. Tells stories.

1 thought on “I met a version of me from next week”

Leave a Reply

